Daniel Kleman thought he had a good thing going. He would use a WHOIS directory to find the names and addresses of .ca holders (I happen to be one, holding the rights to davidakin.ca) and then send along what appeared to be an invoice from The Internet Registry of Canada. Kleman was actually soliciting money to have the .ca domain holders changer registrars.
But the IROC invoice was more devious than that. It looked just like an official federal government document, complete with the little half-flag and the use of all the same fonts that Ottawa uses in its official communications.
Well, Industry Canada was not amused, and this week, it fined Kleman and his business $40,000 and put them on a 5-year probation.
Industry Canada's Competition Bureau said, Kleman's pitch, "was designed to mislead recipients into believing that they were existing customers of IROC's domain name registration service. The mail piece also gave the general impression of being an invoice mailed on behalf of a department or agency of the Government of Canada in charge of the registration of Internet domain names."
|
|||||
|
Info/Contact for David Akin
Search this blog:
Login
Who pays for this blog? I receive no fees, considerations, etc. etc. for the posts on this blog nor do I have any plans to accept any. My salary is paid by Canwest Global Communications Corp. I work for that company as the Ottawa-based National Affairs Correspondent for Canwest News Service. The blog publishing platform used here is called Blogware and it's developed by Tucows Inc. of Toronto, Ontario, Canada. My use of Blogware should not be taken as an endorsement of that company. Like all Blogware users, I do not pay any fees for the use of this service. I participate in program. Google pays me some money and, for that, I give Google some space on this site to display ads. Google sells those ads and Google, not me, decides what advertising content you are seeing. I do not filter these ads and take no responsibility for them. Readers should not assume I endorse any of the products or services advertised here. If you think other disclosures are appropriate in this space, I'd like to hear from you. All of my contact details are always at www.davidakin.com You can read more about this section |
Comments
Re: Internet Registry of Canada guy gets fined
by
Tim A
on Mon 05 Jul 2004 09:05 PM EDT | Profile | Permanent Link
I believe he also sent them out to anyone with .com and .net domains registered with Canadian registars. They all look official as though they are renewal notices for your domain. I've thrown out at least 30 of these in the past couple of years.
Re: Internet Registry of Canada guy gets fined
by
Anonymous
on Tue 03 Aug 2004 02:12 PM EDT | Permanent Link
Everyone is saying it's IROC (Internet Registry of Canada), even the bureau's site says IROC. However, are they not referring to DROC (domain registry of Canada)? I've never heard of IROC, but working with a domain registrar, needless to say we've had our encounters with DROC.
|
Recent Comments
Top Stories This Month
Month Archive
|
|||
|
|||||

